What is local cache?
When Pentana is started up for the first time, it creates a folder on your local computer where it stores checked out audits, personal settings like views, widgets, and filter configurations. Additionally, it holds a database file that can be used to store offline audits (using the check out feature) and other information that can be stored locally, rather than repeatedly transmitting over the network. The database file may also be used to store information received from the main database, and hold temporarily to reduce database queries. You will have one cache folder for each instance of Pentana.
Why should I clear it?
On occasion, often after a long period of use, sometimes after a major upgrade, major reconfiguration of views, or if you notice a degredation in Pentana response time, it might be an indicator that the local cache needs to be cleared out. Clearing out the local cache, and letting the application rebuild itself will remove your currently configured views and widgets, but will start with a fresh copy of cache and should help improve overall performance of your Pentana client.
Who can clear the cache?
Because the local cache is stored in the user profile, any user has the permission to clear their own cache. System administrators can clear the cache for any user.
Where is it located?
Pentana stores all cache directories in the same location. One for each instance of the application:
Inside this folder, you should find one folder per Pentana instance. For example, Pentana Vision Prod, and Pentana Vision Test.
Note: If this is the first time you've tried browsing to this folder location, and you can't find the AppData folder, you may need to enable the show hidden files/folders option (Microsoft: Show Hidden Files and Folders) on your operating system.
When should I clear it?
Generally speaking, clearing the cache is low risk, and there's a way to do it that you can easily put it back, if it doesn't fix your problem. There are a couple caveats that you should be aware of:?
- If you use the check out feature of Pentana, be sure to check in any offline audits before clearing the cache. If you fail to do so, you might lose your offline changes.
- You will lose all of your configured views, widgets, and filters. Sometimes there's a corrupt view, which is causing slowness in the application, and this is the only way to fix it. You may wish to make notes or screenshots of and important view configurations before clearing the cache.
- Pentana should be shut down before clearing the cache. If it isn't, Windows won't let you complete the process.
How should I clear it?
There are two ways to clear the cache. You can delete the folder named after your instance, or rename it. If you rename it, you have the option of putting it back. If you delete it, this process cannot be reversed. If Pentana cannot find a local cache folder, it will automatically create one for you.
To manually envoke this feature, as an example, rename the following folder from:
C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Local\Vision\Pentana Vision Prod\
C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Local\Vision\Pentana Vision Prod Old\
After renaming the folder, start Pentana again and you'll notice that it automatically creates a new cache folder.
If you are happy with the changes, you may choose to continue using Pentana as normal.
If you wish to revert back to your old cache folder, you'll simply delete the new one and restore the old folder to the original name Pentana Prod and restart Pentana.
If, for any reason, clearing the cache didn't work as expected, or would like some assistance with performing this, please contact Ideagen Pentana Support and our techs will be happy to help.